Seasonal Sixteen 2012

By early December I had wearied of Slade, George Michael, Nat King Cole and, dare I say it, The Pogues and Kirsty Maccoll. I felt that I’d detest all that tired old stuff so much by Christmas Day that having it playing over Christmas Dinner would depress rather than uplift. So I put together the following ‘mixtape’ which will be playing in the Buchanan household on Christmas Day.
I’m burning it on to a CD. If you don’t already have these tracks why not set it as a Spotify playlist.

Eels – Everything’s Gonna be cool this Christmas.
I’m a latecomer to the Eels. There’s very little not to like about them and this track gets the Seasonal Sixteen off to a stonking start.

Neil Young – Winterlong
Settling in to a seasonal offering from the Godfather of Grunge himself, singing about winter but making it sound full of spring.

Flaming Lips – Christmas at the zoo
This typically daft, whimsical track really could have taken place at any time of year but because it takes place at Christmas, it’s in the mix.

Felice Brothers – Murder by Mistletoe
Respect for managing to maintain a solid festive theme throughout this dark and troubled ballad.

Tom Waits – Christmas Card from a Hooker in Minneapolis
For the promise of a boozy night to come. And, hey, it does have ‘Christmas’ in the title.

Fleet Foxes – White Winter Hymnal
This band always remind me of the Waltons and this jolly, wintery song about blood and heads in the snow is welcome in my seasonal sixteen.

Aztec Camera – Walk out to Winter
Turn up the collar on your corduroy jacket and walk those cowboy boots out into the slush of a west of Scotland urban winter.

Jethro Tull – Solstice Bells
Let’s hear it for the pre-Christian midwinter festival and celebrate the Pagan weirdy beardy in all of us.

Joni Mitchell – River
In terms of soul-searching, she shows them all how it’s done in this sad, sad, beautiful Christmas song.

Sigur Ros – Hoppipolla
Uplifting stuff here: Frozen tundra, glaciers and Icelandic geezers.

Genesis – Snowbound
I would never have thought anything by them would make it into any collection of mine, but hey, works a treat in this one.

Bon Iver – Holocene
If you listen closely, the word ‘Christmas’ can be heard in this song. That’s enough. It’s in the mix with it’s bleak, frozen sonic setting.

Kate Bush – 50 Words for Snow
I love Kate Bush. I love words. I love snow. I feel fate guided this song into the collection..

Van Morrison and Cliff Richard – Whenever God shines His light
So glad that I’m able to get Cliff Richard into my seasonal sixteen, singing about God’s love with his pal, the ever-jolly Van Morrison.

Big Star – Jesus Christ was born today
Just in case we forget what it’s all about, Chilton and co. getting us to keep it real.

Bob Dylan – Must be Santa
Anyone who’s got a problem with this song just doesn’t ‘get’ Dylan. A bombastic and triumphant finale to my Seasonal Sixteen.

This selection was distilled from a short list of over 30 songs. Whilst I’m sad that I had to leave some of them out of this selection, I’m happy that I can put together an equally fantastic selection in December 2013.

Merry Christmas

Richard

Robin

 

Leave a Reply

